How Are You Doing?

Hmmm: “What Do You Think?”

My social life is almost gone with the wind, because I am always worried that my Ileostomy bag makes the unwanted noises that I don’t have any control over. Hopefully it will be gone in two to three weeks, but I really feel for people who have to live with it for a long time. I heard from my doctor that a lady has been living with it since 1960s. I become a couch potato at the end of the day and not like before, taking my camera and go chasing the sunset or exploring beautiful places close to home. My chemotherapy via port/IV started on Monday and I have to say, it’s no fun. I had it so easy with the chemo pills and radiation in May and June, although they knocked me down, but this one, infusion for 48 hours every other week, started messing with me right away.

Bumbershoot is coming over this weekend, and I am really hoping to make it to the Seattle Center for couple of the days, so missing that place.

WSDCC fall meeting is on the 12th and 13th of September, and even though I had made my hotel reservation, but still not sure if I can make it, and if I go, how I would deal with the bag, if it becomes one of those days.

On the bright side, I am alive and plan to be for a long time. Enjoying the support of my amazing family, I really could not have made it this far without their support. Having positive vibes of great friends, from high school to photographers to Democrats, sending their love every minute. Have one of the best medical teams in the nation and the world. Have one of the best insurances possible, thanks to my wife and her employer, and wishing that our insurance system would become as good for everyone as this one is for me. Still opening the gym at 5 am and make most of my daily walk right there. Being busy in the shop and have lots of projects to work on and they keep coming.

Next time you see me, please don’t ask how I’m doing, just tell me I look great, even if I look like poop :-)

~ by Al Garman on August 28, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,466 other followers

